Roadrunners collect CSC Academic All-District accolades

SAN ANTONIO — Kaedric Cobbs, Lucas Dean, Cory Godinet, Trey Moore and Tate Sandell have been named to the 2023 Academic All-District® Football team, as selected by College Sports Communicators (CSC).

The CSC Academic All-America® program recognizes the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances on the field and in the classroom. With this year’s five honorees, the UTSA football program now has a total of 16 academic all-district selections.

Cobbs earned a spot on the team for the first time in his career after posting a perfect 4.0 GPA while earning his bachelor’s degree in finance. Earlier this month, he received his master of business administration degree with a 3.95 GPA. A three-time Conference USA Commissioner’s Academic Medal recipient and Honor Roll member, he made the UTSA President’s List (4.0 semester GPA) and Dean’s List (3.75+ GPA) multiple times during his time at UTSA. On the field, Cobbs wrapped up his UTSA career with 129 rushing yards and a touchdown on 27 attempts. This season, the Denton, Texas, native rushed for 49 yards on 12 carries, including going for 34 yards on eight totes in the 49-21 win over South Florida.

Dean landed on the CSC Academic All-District Team for the third straight year. The Australian logged a 3.87 GPA while earning his bachelor’s degree in economics before posting a perfect 4.0 GPA as a graduate student in the MBA program. He has collected four Conference USA Commissioner’s Academic Medals and made the league’s honor roll four times before the Roadrunners joined the American Athletic Conference this year. A semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy and a member of the 2021 Conference USA All-Academic Team, he finished his UTSA career as the program’s all-time leader in several punting categories. He owns the school record for punts (261), punting average (43.7) and longest punt (76). He recorded the top three and four of the top five single-season averages in program annals, including the UTSA standard of 45.98 in 2020, a year in which he was an All-American and the Conference USA Special Teams Player of the Year.

Godinet collected CSC Academic All-District Team honors with a 3.58 GPA as a kinesiology major in his debut season with the Roadrunners. A native of the American Samoa, he started 10 games and appeared in all 13 contests to help UTSA to a 9-4 record and the program’s first bowl victory with the 35-17 decision over Marshall in the Scooter’s Coffee Frisco Bowl on Dec. 19. A transfer from Trinity Valley Community College, he helped the offense average 421.6 yards per game, 249.8 passing and 171.8 rushing per outing. According to Pro Football Focus, he allowed only one sack and one hit on the quarterback in 379 pass-blocking snaps this season en route to honorable mention all-conference accolades.

Moore posted a 3.81 GPA while working toward his bachelor’s degree in management. A two-time Conference USA Commissioner’s Academic Medal recipient and Honor Roll member, he was named 2023 American Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year and first-team all-conference after posting 45 tackles, 17.5 tackles for loss, a school-record 14 sacks, three quarterback hurries, three pass breakups, one interception, one forced fumble and a fumble recovery. A three-time AAC Defensive Player of the Week, he finished his UTSA career with 105 tackles, 35.5 TFLs, 22 sacks, 10 PBUs and three forced fumbles.

Sandell also garnered CSC Academic All-District Team plaudits for the first time in his career, as the Port Neches, Texas, native posted a 3.66 GPA as a management major. He recently wrapped up his redshirt freshman season as UTSA’s kickoff specialist, breaking the school single-season record for touchbacks with 42 on 77 total kickoffs. He also made his first career field goal, a 47-yarder in the win over Rice. As a true freshman in 2022, Sandell played in four games and kicked off 20 times with one touchback and one onside kick recovery.

Dean and Moore have been selected as CSC Academic All-America® finalists and will advance to the national ballot to be voted on by CSC members. First-, second- and third-team Academic All-America® honorees will be announced Jan. 23, 2024.