Harris selected for Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2023

FORT WORTH, Texas — UTSA senior Frank Harris has been selected for the Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2023, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced Tuesday.

Harris is one of 35 quarterbacks named to the class and it marks the Schertz Clemens High School product’s fourth consecutive appearance on the list dating back to the 2020 campaign.

A Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award semifinalist each of the past two years, Harris owns 38 school records, including 14 career marks, and he recently eclipsed 10,000 passing yards and 12,000 total offense yards as a Roadrunner. The 2022 Conference USA Most Valuable Player and first-team all-conference performer owns a 36-12 record as UTSA’s starting QB, and despite missing two games in September, he still ranks fourth among active signal-callers with 48 starts behind only Oregon’s Bo Nix (55), Notre Dame’s Sam Hartman (54) and LSU’s Jayden Daniels (51).

Harris, who is on nine different watch lists this year, has completed 134 of 203 passes for 1,588 yards and 13 touchdowns in six games this fall. He has a pair of 300-yard passing games, including throwing for 395 yards — the second-most in program history — and four TDs in the 41-27 victory over East Carolina last Saturday, which earned him spots on the Davey O’Brien Great 8 and Manning Award Stars of the Week lists.

For his career, Harris has tossed for 10,944 yards and 87 touchdowns on 950-of-1,414 passing to go with 1,921 rushing yards and 25 scores on 419 carries to give him UTSA’s total offense record with 12,865 yards, which ranks sixth among active FBS quarterbacks. Additionally, he stands fourth in touchdowns responsible for (113), fifth in completion percentage (.672), eighth in touchdown passes (87), ninth in passing yards (10,944) and 16th in passing efficiency (148.4) among active signal-callers. He has thrown a touchdown pass in 17 consecutive games and is one of only four FBS quarterbacks with 12,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards under his belt, joining Nix, Daniels and San Jose State’s Chevan Cordeiro.

The next step in the process will be to select the award’s 16 semifinalists from the 35 quarterbacks. The semifinalists will be chosen based on voting from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee as well as bonus ballots awarded from the first round of the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote.

For the fourth straight year, the Fan Vote will take place on the award’s three social media platforms — Facebook,Instagram and Twitter (X) — and the top five vote getters on each platform will receive bonus committee member ballots which will be added to the votes cast by the National Selection Committee.

To participate in the Fan Vote, fans must like the original Davey O’Brien Award post highlighting their quarterback. The first round is open now until noon Friday, Nov. 10. The semifinalists will be named on Tuesday, Nov. 14. Looking ahead, the three finalists will be tabbed on Tuesday, Nov. 28, while the winner will be announced live on Friday, Dec. 8, on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1.3 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The 47th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner honoring the winner will be held Monday, Feb. 19, 2024, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2023 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Timeline
Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2023 Announced (Tuesday, Oct. 31)
Semifinalist Round Fan Vote Open (Tuesday, Oct. 31-Friday, Nov. 10) 
Semifinalists Announced (Tuesday, Nov. 14)
Finalist Round Fan Vote Open (Tuesday, Nov. 14-Friday, Nov. 24)
Finalists Announced (Tuesday, Nov. 28) 
Winner Round Fan Vote Open (Tuesday, Nov. 28-Friday, Dec. 1)
Winner Announced on Home Depot College Football Awards (Friday, Dec. 8)
47th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner (Monday, Feb. 19, 2024)

The Roadrunners will travel to Denton to face North Texas (3-5, 1-3) this Saturday, Nov. 4. Kickoff is set for 2 p.m. and the game will air on ESPN+ and Ticket 760.

Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2023
Drew Allar, Penn State, So., 6-5, 242, Medina, Ohio
Carson Beck, Georgia, Jr., 6-4, 220, Jacksonville, Fla.
Davis Brin, Georgia Southern, Sr., 6-2, 210, Boerne, Texas
Brady Cook, Missouri, Jr., 6-2, 205, St. Louis, Mo.
Jayden Daniels, LSU, Sr., 6-4, 210, San Bernardino, Calif.
JT Daniels, Rice, Sr., 6-2, 237, Irvine, Calif.
Jaxson Dart, Ole Miss, Jr., 6-2, 220, Kaysville, Utah
Quinn Ewers, Texas, So., 6-2, 195, Southlake, Texas
Dequan Finn, Toledo, Jr., 6-2, 205, Detroit, Mich.
Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma, Sr., 5-11, 204, Mililani, Hawaii
Darren Grainger, Georgia State, Sr., 6-4, 225, Conway, S.C.
Frank Harris, UTSA, Sr., 6-0, 205, Schertz, Texas
Sam Hartman, Notre Dame, Sr., 6-1, 212, Charlotte, N.C.
Mikey Keene, Fresno State, So., 5-11, 198, Chandler, Ariz.
Zac Larrier, Air Force, Sr., 6-0, 195, Youngstown, Ohio
Drake Maye, North Carolina, So., 6-4, 230, Huntersville, N.C.
Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina, Sr., 6-3, 220, Indian Trail, N.C.
J.J. McCarthy, Michigan, Jr., 6-3, 202, La Grange Park, Ill.
Jordan McCloud, James Madison, Sr., 6-0, 199, Tampa, Fla.
Kyle McCord, Ohio State, Jr., 6-3, 215, Mt. Laurel, N.J.
Graham Mertz, Florida, Jr., 6-3, 215, Overland Park, Kan.
Jalen Milroe, Alabama, So., 6-2, 220, Katy, Texas
Bo Nix, Oregon, Sr., 6-3, 214, Pinson, Ala.
Michael Penix Jr., Washington, Sr., 6-3, 213, Tampa, Fla.
Michael Pratt, Tulane, Jr., 6-3, 220, Boca Raton, Fla.
Austin Reed, Western Kentucky, Jr., 6-2, 230, St. Augustine Beach, Fla.
Kaidon Salter, Liberty, So., 6-1, 200, Cedar Hill, Texas
Shedeur Sanders, Colorado, Jr., 6-2, 215, Dallas, Texas
Preston Stone, SMU, So., 6-1, 219, Dallas, Texas
Taulia Tagovailoa, Maryland, Sr., 5-11, 208, Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Jordan Travis, Florida State, Sr., 6-1, 212, West Palm Beach, Fla.
DJ Uiagalelei, Oregon State, Jr., 6-4, 252, Inland Empire, Calif.
Tyler Van Dyke, Miami, Jr., 6-4, 230, Glastonbury, Conn.
Cameron Ward, Washington State, Jr., 6-2, 223, West Columbia, Texas
Caleb Williams, USC, Jr., 6-1, 220, Washington, D.C.