Javascript is required.
Women's Basketball

Jenkins selected for 2024 Becky Hammon Mid-Major Player of the Year Watch List

Her Hoop Stats has officially announced UTSA forward Jordyn Jenkins to the watch list

HOPEWELL, N.J. — On Wednesday, Her Hoop Stats announced in an official release that UTSA forward Jordyn Jenkins was placed on the watch list for the 2024 Becky Hammon Mid-Major Player of the Year Award following a stellar season for the Roadrunners. 

The Kent, Washington native was also named to the Preseason All-AAC Second Team and will look to carry momentum into the 2023-24 campaign after collecting a slew of accolades last season. She averaged 20.6 PPG at an incredibly efficient 49.3% shooting clip and shined on the glass, managing 7.5 RPG en route to earning both 2022-23 Conference-USA Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year honors. 

Jenkins set the school record for points across a season, dropping 659 points and becoming the first student-athlete at UTSA to claim four C-USA Player of the Week honors in a single season. She was a double-double machine, logging nine across the year, with highlights including a career-high 40-point performance against North Texas that saw the team secure a thrilling 68-67 overtime win. 

The watch list totaling 25 players includes representatives from 23 teams and 16 conferences and was created in 2020 to honor the legendary Becky Hammon, who was a three-time All-American at Colorado State. She followed up her collegiate career with a stellar WNBA tenure that saw her become an All-Star in six seasons and a pair of All-WNBA First Team nods. Additionally, Hammon became the second female coach in NBA history after joining the San Antonio Spurs in 2014 and recently led the Las Vegas Aces to back-to-back WNBA Championships. 

The full 2024 Becky Hammon Mid-Major Player of the Year Watch List can be found below. 

2024 Becky Hammon Mid-Major Player of the Year Watch List

Starr Jacobs, Ark.-Pine Bluff, Sr., G

Caitlin Weimar, Boston U., Sr., F

Destiny Leo, Cleveland St., Sr., G

McKenna Hofschild, Colorado St., Gr., G

Abbey Hsu, Columbia, Sr., G

Katie Dinnebier, Drake, Jr., G

Megan McConnell, Duquesne, Jr., G

Antwainette Walker, Eastern Ky., Gr., G

Yvonne Ejim, Gonzaga, Sr., F

Brynna Maxwell, Gonzaga, Gr., G

Kaylynne Truong, Gonzaga, Gr., G

Savannah Wheeler, Middle Tenn., Sr., G

Katelyn Young, Murray St., Sr., F

Diamond Johnson, Norfolk St., Jr., G

Kacie Borowicz, North Dakota, Gr., G

Kaitlyn Chen, Princeton, Sr., G

Ny'Ceara Pryor, Sacred Heart, So., G

Grace Larkins, South Dakota, Jr., G

Quinesha Lockett, Toledo, Gr., G

Maya McDermott, UNI, Jr., G

Desi-Rae Young, UNLV, Sr., C

Sammie Puisis, USF, Sr., G

Breaunna Gillen, Utah Tech, Gr., G

Jordyn Jenkins, UTSA, Sr., F

Allyson Fertig, Wyoming, Jr., C

Keep up with UTSA Women’s Basketball all season long on, and by following the program on Facebook at /UTSAWBB, Twitter @UTSAWBB, and on Instagram @UTSA_WBB.