Javascript is required.

UTSA Athletics Inaugural Hall of Fame Class Profile: Marcus Davenport

Inaugural UTSA Athletics Hall of Fame class to be inducted this weekend

SAN ANTONIO — UTSA Athletics will induct its inaugural Hall of Fame Class during Homecoming Weekend on Friday-Saturday, Oct. 27-28.

The inaugural class is made up of McKenzie Adams (volleyball/women’s basketball), Devin Brown (men’s basketball), Marcus Davenport (football) and Tameka Roberts (women’s track & field/women’s basketball), as well as former head football coach Larry Coker and former athletics director Lynn Hickey.

The UTSA Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Friday, Oct. 27, while the Hall of Fame plaques will be unveiled to the inductees on Saturday morning at the Roadrunner Athletics Center of Excellence. The group also will be honored on the field during the football game against East Carolina on Saturday afternoon at the Alamodome.

This week, UTSA Athletics will profile each Hall of Fame Inaugural Class inductee.

Marcus Davenport
Football (2014-17)

Marcus Davenport developed into one of the most impactful football players in the program’s short history during his career, which began in 2014 and 2015 under fellow UTSA Athletics Hall of Fame Inaugural Class inductee Larry Coker.

The San Antonio native and Stevens High School product was named the 2017 Conference USA Defensive Player of the Year and a first-team all-conference performer at defensive end as a senior after he posted 55 total tackles, 30 solo stops, 17.5 tackles for loss, 8.5 sacks, four pass breakups, three forced fumbles and a fumble return for a touchdown.

A three-time all-league selection, Davenport finished his UTSA career with 186 tackles, 38 tackles for loss, 22 sacks, 21 quarterback hurries, eight pass breakups, six forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. Selected to play in the 2018 Senior Bowl, he is still the school’s all-time leader in tackles for loss (38.0), sacks (22.0) and hurries (21).

In 2018, he became the first Roadrunner to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft when he was picked 14th overall by the Saints. After five seasons in New Orleans, he signed to play with the Minnesota Vikings earlier this year.