Men's Basketball

UTSA Athletics Inaugural Hall of Fame Class Profile: Devin Brown

The inaugural UTSA Athletics Hall of Fame class will be inducted this weekend

SAN ANTONIO — UTSA Athletics will induct its inaugural Hall of Fame Class during Homecoming Weekend on Friday-Saturday, Oct. 27-28.

The inaugural class is made up of McKenzie Adams (volleyball/women’s basketball), Devin Brown (men’s basketball), Marcus Davenport (football) and Tameka Roberts (women’s track & field/women’s basketball), as well as former head football coach Larry Coker and former athletics director Lynn Hickey.

The UTSA Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Friday, Oct. 27, while the Hall of Fame plaques will be unveiled to the inductees on Saturday morning at the Roadrunner Athletics Center of Excellence. The group also will be honored on the field during the football game against East Carolina on Saturday afternoon at the Alamodome.

Over the next three days, UTSA Athletics will profile each Hall of Fame Inaugural Class inductee.

Devin Brown
Men’s Basketball (1998-2002)

Devin Brown was a three-time first-team all-conference selection and is one of only two UTSA men’s basketball players to have his jersey retired. A four-year starter for the Roadrunners, he earned 1998 Southland Conference Freshman of the Year and second-team all-league accolades before being named to the first team for his final three seasons.

The San Antonio native and West Campus High School product helped lead UTSA to the 1999 Southland Tournament title and a berth in the NCAA Tournament. The first Roadrunner to register a triple-double with a 33-point, 11-rebound, 11-assist performance against Louisiana-Monroe in 2001, he finished his career as the program’s all-time scoring leader with 1,922 points, which has since been broken. He also registered a 7.2 career rebounds-per-game average and he ranks in the top five in school history in rebounds (751), free throws (478), steals (184) and scoring average (18.3).

Brown began his professional career in the USBL and National Basketball Development League before making his NBA debut as the first Roadrunner to play for the San Antonio Spurs in 2002. He was a member of the franchise’s 2005 NBA Championship team and also played for the Nuggets, Jazz, Hornets, Warriors, Bulls and Cavaliers. He scored 3,352 points in 465 career NBA games from 2002-10, highlighted by his 2006-07 season with the Pelicans in which he averaged 11.6 points and 4.3 rebounds, while shooting 42 percent from the floor.

He was enshrined into the San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame in May 2023 and he received the most votes on the UTSA Silver Anniversary Top-25 Former Student-Athletes in 2006.