Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

UTSA places 13 on Phil Steele Preseason All-AAC Team

CLEVELAND — UTSA has placed 13 football student-athletes on the Phil Steele Preseason All-American Athletic Conference Team, the publication announced this month.
The Roadrunners, who officially join The American on July 1, received seven first-team selections in quarterback Frank Harris, wide receiver Joshua Cephus, tight end Oscar Cardenas, linebackers Jamal Ligon and Trey Moore, safety Rashad Wisdom and punter Lucas Dean.
Running back Kevorian Barnes, wide receiver De'Corian Clark, offensive linemen Makai Hart and Terrell Haynes and defensive lineman Brandon Brown all landed on the second team, while Chris Carpenter was chosen for the third team at kick returner.
The Roadrunners will kick off their 13th season of play on Saturday, Sept. 2, when travel to Houston to face the Cougars at 6 p.m. at TDECU Stadium. 
UTSA will face Texas State for the home opener at 2:30 p.m. the following Saturday at the Alamodome. The Roadrunners also will host Army at 6 p.m. Friday, Sept. 15, UAB on Oct. 14, East Carolina on Oct. 28, Rice on Nov. 11 and South Florida at 8 p.m. Friday, Nov. 17.
Season tickets are on sale now by calling 210-458-UTSA (8872) or visiting Season ticket prices start at $90 per seat. Payment plans for all season ticket packages are available. Current UTSA students receive free admission to all home games by downloading tickets via their Account Manager.
Under the direction of two-time conference coach of the year Jeff Traylor, the Roadrunners are coming off an 11-3 campaign that saw them capture their second straight Conference USA Championship and play in a bowl game for the third year in a row. UTSA has been ranked in the top 25 in each of the last two seasons and boasts a combined 23 wins over that span, the fourth-best total among all FBS teams behind only Georgia (29), Michigan (25) and Alabama (24).
2023 Phil Steele Preseason All-American Athletic Conference Team (UTSA selections only)
First Team
QB — Frank Harris
WR — Joshua Cephus
TE — Oscar Cardenas
LB — Jamal Ligon
LB — Trey Moore
S — Rashad Wisdom
P — Lucas Dean
Second Team
RB — Kevorian Barnes
WR — De'Corian Clark
OG — Terrell Haynes
OT — Makai Hart
DT — Brandon Brown
Third Team
KR — Chris Carpenter