Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics
Men's Tennis

Four Roadrunners earn All-Conference USA honors

SAN ANTONIO – A total of four UTSA men's tennis standouts earned All-Conference USA honors in a voting of the league's coaches, it was announced by the conference office on Tuesday afternoon. 
Junior Joao Ceolin (Palotina, Brazil) and senior Juri Reckow (Hamburg, Germany) each earned first-team All-Conference USA singles honors. Junior Javier Gonzalez (San Fernando, Chile) and freshman Garret Skelly (The Woodlands, Texas) combined to earn second-team All-Conference USA in doubles. 
Ceolin led the team with 13 singles wins, including a 7-1 record on line 2. He finished his season winning 10 consecutive singles matches and notched a pair of wins over ranked foes. He was named C-USA Player of the Week on April 9 after earning his ninth straight singles win, clinching a sweep over Rice. 
Reckow earned first-team honors for the second straight season in singles, posting a 12-4 record, including a 9-3 mark on line 1. He had a stretch of nine straight singles wins, and after going 9-0 in 2020 and opening the year 11-1 in 2021, won 20 of 21 singles points. He earned C-USA Player of the Week honors twice, including on March 17 after helping UTSA to a win at No. 40 Tulsa, which included his win over the nation's No. 67 player, and on March 3 after earning a win over UT Arlington's No. 84 nationally ranked singles player. Reckow is the first player since Daniel Moser in 2011-12 to earn first-team all-conference honors in consecutive seasons.  
Gonzalez and Skelly teamed together for a 13-2 mark in doubles, winning eight of their final 10 matches and four of their last five. They owned doubles wins over Charlotte, UT Arlington, Rice, Lamar, UTRGV, UIW, No. 40 Tulsa, No. 26 Oklahoma, Abilene Christian, Louisville, SMU and New Mexico State. 
2021 Conference USA Men's Tennis Superlative Awards
Player of the Year – Francisco Rocha, Middle Tennessee
Freshman of the Year – Younes Lalami, Old Dominion
Newcomer of the Year – Kevin Huempfner, Florida Atlantic
Outstanding Singles Player of the Championship – Stijn Slump, Middle Tennessee
Outstanding Doubles Team of the Championship – Chris Edge/Tom Moonen, Middle Tennessee
Coach of the Year – Jimmy Borendame, Middle Tennessee
All-Conference USA Singles
First Team
Ignasi de Rueda, Charlotte
Henry Lieberman, Charlotte
*Chris Edge, Middle Tennessee
Francisco Rocha, Middle Tennessee
*Juri Reckow, UTSA
Joao Ceolin, UTSA
Second Team
*Maxime Lapraille, Florida Atlantic
Stijn Slump, Middle Tennessee
Luca Maldoner, Old Dominion
Younes Lalami, Old Dominion
*Tomislav Podvinski, Old Dominion
Sumit Sarkar, Rice
Olimjon Nabiev, Southern Miss
All-Conference USA Doubles
First Team
Pavel Motl/Stijn Slump, Middle Tennessee
*Luca Maldoner/Nicola Vidal, Old Dominion
*Sumit Sarkar/Conrad Russell, Rice
Second Team
Maxime Lapraille/Filip Krolo, Florida Atlantic
**Chris Edge/Tom Moonen, Middle Tennessee
*Roman Postolka/Michal Lusovsky, UAB
Javier Gonzalez/Garrett Skelly, UTSA
*Repeat Honoree
**Three-time selection
- UTSA -