Men's Tennis

Roadrunners take down New Mexico State on Sunday

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas -- The UTSA men's tennis team posted a 6-1 win over New Mexico State on Sunday in the H-E-B Invitational, hosted by Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at the Thomas J. Henry Tennis Center. 
UTSA (3-2) posted the win over the Aggies (1-7) on Sunday to complete a two-match swing through the H-E-B Invitational, which featured a 7-0 win over UTRGV on Saturday. 
"It definitely felt good to play again," UTSA head coach Sergey Avdeyev said. "I'm proud of our guys to bring the level after not playing the entire week. We'll get back on the court and get tuned up for next weekend."
The Roadrunners claimed the double point with a sweep on all three courts, including the combination of Sebastian Rodriguez (Trujillo, Peru) and Joao Ceolin (Palontina, Brazil), Juri Reckow (Hamburg, Germany) and Slava Gulin (Moscow, Russia), and Javier Gonzalez (Trujillo, Peru) and Garrett Skelly (The Woodlands, Texas). 
Reckow claimed his singles point on court two, with UTSA also getting wins from Ceolin on court three, Javier Gonzalez on court four, Gulin on court five and Javier Rodriguez on court six. 
Ceolin and Gonzalez improved to 3-1 in their singles matches on the year, with Gulin improving to 3-0. 
UTSA is next in action at Texas-Arlington on Saturday at 11 a.m., before traveling across town to face SMU on Sunday at 11 a.m. 

Singles competition
1. Louis Menard (NMSU) def. Sebastian Rodriguez (UTSA) 6-2, 6-2
2. Juri Reckow (UTSA) def. Nicolas Buitrago (NMSU) 7-6, 4-6, 10-6
3. Joao Ceolin (UTSA) def. Martin Simecek (NMSU) 6-1, 4-6, 6-2
4. Javier Gonzalez (UTSA) def. Jordy Visser (NMSU) 6-4, 6-1
5. Slava Gulin (UTSA) def. Corey Clarke (NMSU) 7-5, 6-4
6. Javier Rodriguez (UTSA) def. Gijs Akkermans (NMSU) 6-1, 6-2
Doubles competition
1. Sebastian Rodriguez/Joao Ceolin (UTSA) def. Gijs Akkermans/Louis Menard (NMSU) 6-2
2. Juri Reckow/Slava Gulin (UTSA) def. Jordy Visser/Nicolas Buitrago (NMSU) 7-6
3. Javier Gonzalez/Garrett Skelly (UTSA) def. Martin Simecek/Corey Clarke (NMSU) 6-2
- UTSA -