Javascript is required.

UTSA announces final results of athletic fee referendum

SAN ANTONIO — UTSA today announced the outcome of the student vote on a proposed increase in the Athletics Fee. Nearly 5,900 students voted over the two days of balloting.

The final results are:

  • For – 1,730 or 29.33%.
  • Against – 4,168 or 70.66%

“I want to thank all the students who voted in this referendum. Your voice is important, and we appreciate your involvement,” said UTSA Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Lisa Campos. “I don’t believe this was a vote against athletics. In fact, we see more and more students coming to our games and supporting our teams. For many, this was a financial issue. Cost of attendance is top of mind for many of our students and we respect that. Our desire is to make the value of a UTSA degree even greater, and we will continue to do our part to support the success of our students and graduates.”

“As we head into Homecoming weekend, I’m so grateful for all the support that UTSA Athletics has received from across the university including the Spirit of San Antonio, UTSA Cheer and ROTC. We’ve all been together since day one,” Campos said.

Senior Vice Provost for Student Affairs and Dean of Students LT Robinsonadded, “We value and appreciate the feedback we heard during our meetings and visits with students. Our top priority is listening to students, understanding their issues and concerns, and informed, by that feedback, deepening our collaborations with campus and community partners.”

Also on the ballot this week was the selection of the new Spirit of the Roadrunner winners. The outcome of that vote will be announced during halftime at tomorrow’s UTSA football game as part of Homecoming Week activities.

The Spirit of the Roadrunner program, formerly known as Mr. and Ms. UTSA, recognizes students who embody the spirit of UTSA while striving for the highest levels of academic achievement, campus involvement and community service. Each year, this UTSA tradition draws a large crowd of students, alumni, fans and supporters.